Conferences and Professional Development Opportunities

South Carolina Science Council’s
37th Annual Conference
October 29-31, 2014
Myrtle Beach Convention Center


"Growing Teachers: One STEM at a Time"

Conference Program


The cost for this year’s conference is $150.00 for those who register by October 1st.

  • Registration Form for the South Carolina Science Council’s 37th Annual Conference.

    • Online payment options will be available soon.

Call for Presenters and Vendors

Join us as a presenter or vendor and take the opportunity to grow or help others grow as a professional. Share your lesson, project, method, or knowledge that will inspire other teachers in our state to be the best teachers they can be.


2013-2014 Offerings

SC2 Professional Development Day
February 21, 2104

Please click here for Dana Hutto's Keynote Presentation: "Understanding the Science and Engineering Practices"

2013-2014 SC2 Conference
On the Road with (SC)2!

The National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) held their area conference in Charlotte, NC in November 2013. To support NSTA we did NOT hold the annual (SC)2 conference in Myrtle Beach during the 2012 and 2013 school years.

It was great to see all of those that attended the South Carolina Science Council (SC)2 Breakfast/Business Meeting at the NSTA Conference in Charlotte. We look forward to more events like this in the future.

Please help us thank Carolina Biological Supply for sponsoring the breakfast.

Call for Nominations for (SC)2 Leadership

It is that time again, when the members nominate candidates for positions of leadership in (SC)². To be eligible for an office, the person must be a member in good standing in the organization and the District Directors must teach in the district where they are nominated. When a member is nominated, they must submit a resume to (SC)².

The following positions are still open for nomination:

Vice-President Elect - The Presidency is a graduating position; you come in as the vice-president elect and move through the positions over a 5 year period.

Treasurer (Two year term)

District I Director (Two year term) - Beaufort, Berkeley, Charleston, Colleton, Dorchester, Hampton, Jasper

District II Director (Two year term) Bamberg, Calhoun, Lexington, Orangeburg, Richland

District V Director (Two year term) - Cherokee, Chester, Chesterfield, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lancaster, Spartanburg, Union, York

District Directors are available to answer any questions related to (SC)² and serve as your liaison on the Advisory Board. Additionally, during their two-year term in office, they provide valuable resources to members in their district.

All nominations should be sent to Dee Marshall at or by September 15th. Please put Nomination in the Subject Line.


(SC)2 Listserv!

Keep up to date. The South Carolina Science Council has a new listserv. Join now!

Subscribe to scsciencecouncil

Powered by


NSTA logoThe South Carolina Science Council - (SC)2 - is a chapter of
the National Science Teachers Association - NSTA